The Department of Clinical Pharmacy is one of three departments in the UCSF School of Pharmacy and is under the administrative oversight of the department chair, who reports to the School’s dean. The dean reports directly to the UCSF chancellor, who reports to the UC president, who is accountable to the Regents of the University of California.

The School of Pharmacy—together with the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Dentistry, the Graduate Division, and UCSF Health—form UCSF, which is one of 10 campuses in the University of California (UC) system.

UCSF is intensely collaborative. As a result, department faculty members work with colleagues in research, education, and patient care programs across UCSF.

Organization chart

July 2022



Name Title Reports to Entity

Kathy Giacomini, PhD, BSPharm

Dean UCSF Chancellor none
Lisa Kroon, PharmD Chair

Kathy Giacomini, PhD, BSPharm

Department of Clinical Pharmacy
Fran Aweeka, PharmD Vice Chair Lisa Kroon, PharmD Faculty
Valerie Clinard, PharmD Vice Chair Lisa Kroon, PharmD Faculty
Jennifer Cocohoba, PharmD, MAS Vice Chair Lisa Kroon, PharmD Faculty
Robin Corelli, PharmD Vice Chair Lisa Kroon, PharmD Faculty
Karen Hamblett Chief Administrative Officer Lisa Kroon, PharmD Staff


School of Pharmacy Administration

Susan Merrell, UCSF


Lisa Kroon, PharmD

Chair Lisa Kroon, PharmD, leads the formation of the department’s strategic direction and priorities to ensure the continued growth and development of the department and its faculty. She manages the resources required to support the department’s success and creates the conditions for a high-performing and high-functioning work environment for the department’s faculty and staff.

Kroon and the School's two other chairs work as a team with the dean and School administrators to ensure the School’s continuing leadership, forging collaborations with UCSF colleagues and partners in government, business, and industry to expand the breadth and relevance of the School's work. Each department chair reports to the dean.


Vice chairs

Vice chair of experiential education

Valerie Clinard, PharmD

Vice Chair Clinard provides leadership to and oversight of experiential education and experiential directors.

Vice chair of professional affairs

Robin Corelli, PharmD

Vice Chair Corelli provides leadership in professional development for faculty members and pharmacy practitioners.

Vice chair of research

Fran Aweeka, PharmD

Vice Chair Aweeka enhances research in the department by providing an environment where faculty members are supported with the necessary tools to be successful in grantsmanship.

Vice chair of faculty development

Jennifer Cocohoba, PharmD, MAS

Vice Chair Cocohoba provides leadership around faculty development and serves as champion for wellness, recruitment, and retention.



Chief Administrative Officer

Karen Hamblett

Chief Administrative Officer Hamblett reports to the chair and is responsible for efficient administration and fiscal health of the department, including staff management, development and engagement, faculty and staff HR issues, strategic planning and implementation, and business initiatives to ensure the attainment of departmental strategic goals.

Chair’s Council

The Chair’s Council is an internal advisory group composed of the vice chairs and the chief administrative officer. It explores issues and opportunities facing the School and advises the chair on direction.